Sigmund Freud - Work

Freud's work can be divided in four major periods*:

    1. The exploration of neurosis, from the inception of practice (1886) until the "Studies on Hysteria" -1895.

    2. Self-analysis - 1895-1899.

    3. Id psychology, in which was elaborated the first system of psychoanalytic psychology - 1900-1914.

    4. Ego psychology, involving a considerable extension and elaboration of the earlier ideas, lasting from 1914 until 1939.

Several articles and resources on this site cover all these periods.

Related to his work see also:


*Reuben Fine, "A History of Psychoanalysis", Columbia University Press.

Home | Search | Forum | Newsletter | Contact

Copyright 1998-2018, AROPA. All rights reserved.

logo aropa